The Patagonian Foundation
PO Box 29113 San Francisco, CA 94129 USA

April 24, 2018

Foundation History
Board of Directors
About Patagonia
Current Challenges
How to Help
News and Updates
English / Español

About Patagonia
Patagonia Geography

With a surface area of approximately 800,000 square kilometers, the region known as Patagonia encompasses the southern cone of South America (including parts of both Chile and Argentina). On the Chilean side, it begins south of the city of Puerto Montt. In Argentina, it begins south of the Colorado River. Patagonia ends in Tierra del Fuego, where Cape Horn is located. The population density in Patagonia is approximately 1-2 persons per square kilometers, making it one of the most sparsely populated regions in the world.

The Argentinean side of Patagonia is divided into three regions: Andean Patagonia (a very mountainous area), Central Patagonia (dominated by plains), and Atlantic Patagonia (a coastal region). The Chilean side is divided into Northern Patagonia, in the province of AisÚn, and Southern Patagonia, in the province of Magallanes. Chilean Patagonia is primarily mountainous with a rugged coast composed of countless channels, fjords and islands.

Patagonia is also home to the Northern and Southern Icefields. The Northern Icefield runs for nearly 200 kilometers and covers a surface of 4,200 square kilometers. The Southern Icefield is over 350 kilometers long and has a surface of approximately 13,000 square kilometers. These icefields are located along the Andes at an average altitude of 1,500 meters. Located mainly in Chile, some branches of the Southern Icefield extend into Argentina.

Ecological Significance | Geography | Photo Gallery 1 | 2 | 3 | 4